USA Field Hockey has named its 2006-07 Women’s Under 21 squad following trials at the Junior National Camp in Virginia Beach.

The announcement of the junior squad with its roster of young Olympic hopefuls comes at the start of the two year “Countdown to Beijing” and the opening of the 2008 Olympic Games. The Games of the XXIX Olympiad will take place from 8-24 August, 2008, in Beijing.

The 26-member squad includes 11 selections returning from the 2005 Under-21 team including Kelsey Cutchins, Katelyn Falgowski, Michelle Kasold, Jennifer Long, Brianna O’Donnell, Katie O’Donnell, Lauren Pfeiffer, Sarah Reinprecht, Allison Scola, Kadi Sickel and Laura Suchoski.

Falgowski and Katie O’Donnell were recently selected to the USA National Team’s World Cup training squad in preparation for September’s World Cup in Madrid and were joined by Brianna O’Donnell and Kasold as members of last year’s Junior World Cup team that placed a USA-best 7th place in Santiago, Chile.

The U21 squad also includes former USA U19Junior Team members Alexandra Malatesta, Caitlin McCurdy Katie Reinprecht and Allison Tanner.

Athletes making their debuts on the U21 squad include Janelle Avila, Amy Daniels, Meghan Dean, Roslynn Ellis, Paige Laytos, Melissa Martin, Lauren Miller, Paige Selenski, Pamela Spuehler, Taylor and Alesha Widdall.

Squad members will continue training at regionally located High Performance Centers as they prepare for the Pan American Junior Championships in 2008 and the Junior World Cup in 2009. USA Olympian and Univ. of Michigan Associate Head Coach Tracey Fuchs currently serves as the head coach of the under-21 squad.

At 16 years, one month, Selenski is the youngest of the players selected to the squad, edging out fellow 16-year-old Widdall (16 years, 7 months).

The Reinprecht sisters, Sarah and Katie, continue a line of sibling teammates on USA Field Hockey squads that includes current National Squad members Rachel and Sarah Dawson as well as 2001 National Squad teammates Kelli and Kristi Gannon, 2001 U21 teammates Natalie and Alexis Martirosian and current USA men’s national squad members Patrick and Sean Harris.