The ultimate dream of Olympic Qualification can come true for any nation as the Hockey World League (HWL) is ready for its second edition, beginning with Round 1 in late June of 2014. Men’s and women’s teams from 60 nations will battle their way to make their mark in the second HWL season that boasts more than 450 scheduled matches.

This unique global league happens over a two-year cycle, alternating between Olympic and World Cup Qualification, and presents hockey at its best. The inaugural season included 19 nations who had their first introduction to international competition, while more than 300 officials were involved and there were over one million views through live streaming. After its 2012-2014 debut the Netherlands men and women became the first teams to hoist the HWL trophy.

 In the second edition of the HWL, slight changes to the competition format for both the men and women have been made including the progression to three events of 8 teams in Round 2 and two events of 10 teams in the Semi-Final rounds. The top three in each men’s and women’s 2015 Semi-Final round, six men’s and six women’s teams total, will earn qualification spots to the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The HWL Final round will remain an eight-team event.

 Immediately following the Rabobank Hockey World Cup, focus will shift to the 11 nations hosting Round 1 events including Croatia, Kenya, Bangladesh, Oman, Fiji and Lithuania. Through early 2015, HWL Round 2 begins with hosting duties for the men going to Singapore, USA and South Africa, while women’s events will be held in Uruguay, India and Ireland. Argentina, Spain and Belgium will host the HWL Semi-Finals, with Belgium pulling double duty in Antwerp. Argentina and India will host the women’s and men’s HWL Finals, respectively. Both are hosting the final round for the second-straight time.

 Fan experience, free live YouTube streaming and overall coverage for the excitement of hockey was more apparent than ever throughout last year’s HWL. The upcoming season promises over 540 hours of pure, adrenaline-filled hockey entertainment and will be accessible all around the globe.

Click below for a full  list of dates, hosts and participating teams (subject to change):


About the Hockey World League

The Hockey World League is an event run by FIH since 2012. The global league presents hockey at its best while providing opportunities for new talent and teams to shine and eager fans to get involved. 

The Hockey World League has four rounds, over a period of 2 years. Each round acts as a qualifier for the next giving every team the potential to go all the way to the final. For the 2014-15 Hockey World League, there are six men’s and six women’s Olympic qualification spots at stake for the 2016 Rio Olympics.


Supporting Links:

World League 2014-15 Explanatory Note

World League Explained

World League Competition Details

2016 Olympics Rio Qualification System