(Photo: Frank Uijlenbroek)

Tobias Hauke's year just keeps getting better. The recently-crowned FIH Player of the Year, was also named Player of the Tournament at the EuroHockey Indoor Club Champions Cup  2014, as his team, Harvestehuder THC from Germany, beat the Russian Federation's representative Dinamo Yekaterinburg 4-10 in the final to be crowned indoor hockey champions.

The score margin doesn't do justice to the quality and competitiveness of the game, Dinamo conceded three quick goals towards the end of the match when they removed their 'keeper in an effort to close the gap.

Belgium club Racing Club de Bruxelles took the bronze medal after a tense shoot out with the Spanish team C.H. SPV Complutense. The results mean that Kolos-Sekvoya Vinnitsa (UKR) and Hockey Club Valenciennes (FRA) will be relegated to the Indoor Club Champions Trophy next year.

Taking their places among indoor hockey's premier club sides next year will be representatives from Switzerland, courtesy of a winning performance from HC Rotweiss Wettingen, and SV Arminen of Austria. The two teams both won promotion after they beat Menzieshall HC from Scotland and HAHK Mladost of Croatia respectively in the finals of the Eurohockey Indoor Club Champions Trophy held in Minsk. 

Relegated from the second division are Italian club side CUS Bologna and SV Kampong of the Netherlands. Next season they will both play in the EuroHockey Indoor Club Champions Challenge 1.