(Photo: FIH / Frank Uijlenbroek)

Following Sunday’s dramatic conclusion to the inaugural edition of the women’s Hockey World League competition in San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina, the FIH can now reveal the pools for next summer’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands.

Pool A will consist of reigning Olympic and World League champions the Netherlands (World Ranking: 1), World League Silver medallists Australia (4), New Zealand (5), Korea (8), Japan (9) and Belgium (12), while 2010 world champions Argentina (2) will face England (3), Germany (6), China (7), USA (10) and South Africa (11) in Pool B.

The pools for the World Cup are based on the current FIH World Rankings, which have been updated to include the ranking points earned by the teams that competed in the inaugural Hockey World League Final.  

The results from that event triggered some changes to the rankings, with the Netherlands – tournament winners in Tucuman – reclaiming top spot ahead of fourth place finishers Argentina. The Netherlands relinquished the top spot after a third place finish at the Tri-Finance EuroHockey Nations continental championship in the summer, but their superb triumph in the World League ensures that they finish the year as the world’s number 1 ranked team.

England’s Bronze medal in Tucuman was enough to keep them third in the World Rankings, just ahead of World League finalists Australia, who have leap-frogged New Zealand into fourth. To learn more about the current FIH World Rankings, please click here

The announcement of the men’s World Cup pools will be made after the completion of January’s Hero Hockey World League Final in New Delhi, India, while a full match schedule for the stunning showpiece in The Hague being announced in the coming months.

Women’s Pools – Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

When: 31 May – 15 June 2014

Where: Kyocera Stadium, The Hague (NED)

Pool A

World Ranking





New Zealand








Pool B

World Ranking











South Africa










How they qualified

Netherlands: Hosts
Germany:  Continental Champions Europe
Argentina: Continental Champions Pan America
Japan: Continental Champions Asia
Australia: Continental Champions Oceania 
South Africa: Continental Champions Africa
England: 2nd place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
Korea: 3rd place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
New Zealand: 4th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) *
China: 4th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) **
USA: 5th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) ***
Belgium: 6th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi Final, Rotterdam (NED) ****

* Netherlands finished second in the Hockey World League Semi-Final event in Rotterdam.  As they are already pre-qualified as the host, this meant that the highest ranked fourth place finisher from both Semi-Final events earned direct qualification to the Rabobank Hockey World Cup. This place was given to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and higher ranked than China at the time the event took place. 
** China qualified as first reserve courtesy of Germany’s victory in the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships.
*** With second reserves Japan and the already qualified Argentina winning the respective continental championships in Asia and Pan America, the World Cup ticket was handed to third reserves USA. 
**** Belgium qualified as fourth reserve courtesy of Australia’s victory in the Oceania Cup 2013

About the International Hockey Federation (FIH)

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is the world governing body for the sport of hockey, recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Founded in 1924, FIH today has 127 member National Associations. For further information about FIH, please visit us at: