Russia men won Hockey Gold on home soil at the 27th Summer Universiade in Kazan.
Russia men won Hockey Gold on home soil at the 27th Summer Universiade in Kazan.

The Hockey competition at the 27th Summer Universiade in Kazan, Russia has drawn to a close, with Korea taking the women’s Gold medal while host nation Russia grabbed the men’s title. 

The Universiade – also known as the World Student Games – is an International multi-sport event, organized for university athletes by the International University Sports Federation (FISU).

Korea women were hugely impressive throughout the tournament, defeating Belarus (5-1), Russia (2-1) and Japan en-route to the Sunday’s competition final where they faced the host nation for a second time. The Asian giants stormed into a 3-0 half time lead thanks to goals from Park Seunga and London 2012 Olympians Han Hye Lyoung and Kim Jong Eun. Kim collected her second goal of the game shortly after the break from open play before Cho Eun Ji netted a penalty stroke to complete the match scoring. Japan claimed the Bronze medal thanks to a 3-1 win over Belarus.

The men’s final, which took place on Monday, was a much tighter affair, with Russia edging France 2-1. Pavel Plesetckii gave Russia the lead with a field goal in the 18th minute before France drew level thanks to Gaspard Baumgarten’s open play strike just before half time. The match was settled in the 41st minute by Anton Kornilov, ensuring that the host nation would add a Hockey Gold medal to the silver achieved by the women the previous day.  

Earlier on Monday, Germany snatched the men’s Bronze medal by defeating 4-3. Germany’s winning goal arrived in the 70th minute, with Jonas Fuerste – younger brother of Germany star and 2012 FIH Player of the Year Moritz – netting the crucial strike exactly two seconds from the end of the game.   

For more information about the 27th Summer Universiade in Kazan, please click here [External Link – Official Universiade 2013 website]

27th Summer Universiade
Kazan, Russia
Hockey competition

Gold: Korea
Silver: Russia
Bronze:  Japan

Gold: Russia
Silver: France
Bronze: Germany