Ranchi Rhinos were the winners of the inaugural Hero Hockey India League.
Ranchi Rhinos were the winners of the inaugural Hero Hockey India League.
(Photo: Hero Hockey India League)

New Delhi, 7 June 2013: After the resounding success of the inaugural season of the Hero Hockey India League, Hockey India today announced the dates for the 2014 Hero Hockey India League. The second edition of the tournament will be played from 23 January 2014 with the final on Sunday 23 February 2014.

Hero HIL 2013 saw more than 41 million fans in India watching the tournament and its reach was ahead of the UEFA EURO 2012. The inaugural season of Hero HIL was telecasted in 146 countries across the globe.

The largest marketing campaign for a hockey tournament saw record stadium walk ins and more than 500,000 fans liked the official facebook page of the Hero Hockey India League in the inaugural season.

The 2013 season was won by the Ranchi Rhinos in front of a packed stadium in Ranchi.

The league has reinvigorated the game of Hockey in India and provided financial security to the players. Players from 8 countries participated in the 2013 season of the Hero Hockey India League where they showcased their skills alongside the best talent in India.

The six franchise based teams will feature in the second edition of the Hero Hockey India League to make the battle more fiery. With the inclusion of one new team in the 2014 season, the Hero HIL promises to add a lot of energy, cut-throat competition and an exciting opportunity for the upcoming talent to leave their mark in this tournament.

Star Sports, Broadcast Partner of the Hero HIL will telecast live all the matches of the league.

Dr. Narinder Batra, Chairman Hero Hockey India League stated: “We are pleased to announce the dates for Hero Hockey India League 2014. After the enormous success in the inaugural season, we are expecting more spectacular hockey for the fans during Hero HIL 2014. We hope that the second season will see the toughest battles among the six teams.”

In the inaugural season, 70 top domestic players including the Indian national side as well as 50 international players who are part of the national squads of Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Netherlands, Germany, Malaysia, Spain, and Argentina played for the five teams.

Out of the total 120 players participating in the inaugural season of Hero Hockey India League, 60 were Olympians. The list includes winners of the prestigious FIH Player of the Year Award including. Jamie Dwyer (four times FIH Player of the Year in 2004, 2009, 2010, 2011), Teun De Nooijer (three times FIH Player of the Year in 2003, 2005, 2006) and Moritz Fuerste (FIH Player of the Year in 2012). Seven out of the top 10 FIH rated players played in the Hero HIL 2013. 

Hero Hockey India League Partners
Hero MotoCorp
Star Sports

Source: Hockey India Media Release