(Photo: FIH)

After the recent withdrawal of the Korean team from the women's Champions Challenge I tournament, to be held in Cape Town from 11 to 18 October 2009, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) now advise that it has been impossible to find a replacement nation at such short notice.

Therefore, to ensure that all teams will be given full opportunity for match participation, but still retain the competitiveness and fairness of the tournament, the FIH (in consultation with the Organising Committee) has changed the traditional format for a 2 pool x 4 team tournament. The format to apply at this tournament will be as follows:

1. Preliminary Rounds – Pool A and Pool B
2. Medal and Non Medal Rounds – Pool C and Pool D
3. Final / Classification matches

Once teams reach the medal and non medal rounds, they will take with them the points and goals scored from the match against the Preliminary Round opponent within this pool. Teams will then play the teams they have not played yet – another two matches for each team. The finals /classification matches will be 1st v 2nd and 3rd v 4th in Pool C and 1st v 2nd in Pool D.

In addition, the organising committee will provide a match for the team finishing 3rd in Pool D against an Invitational XI on the final day.

Please click here for the Match Schedule.