Canadian men’s national field hockey team head coach Alan Brahmst announced his official training squad for preparations leading up to the 2010 FIH World Cup in New Delhi, India.

The names of 32 athletes were released, including four goaltenders, following a four-day selection camp in Vancouver at the national team's domestic training facility on the campus of the University of British Columbia.

'During the past weekend we witnessed significant Canadian talent that is emerging as the next group of world class players. We are confident that we have the player base necessary to sustain our rise in world rankings,” said former Canadian captain and team tactical consultant Pete Milkovich. “We are continuing to invest in innovative coaching techniques and game strategies to close the gap on the top 6 nations in the world.”

A total of 60 athletes were evaluated during the camp using comprehensive fitness testing along with athlete performance in training units and squad matches.

Canada will compete in a 4-Nation tournament in Russia from 20-29 June before reassembling at their Vancouver training base. The Canadian men will also tour Australia from 23 June-10 August  after the Senior National Championships.

Canadian World Cup Squad: Ranjeev Deol, Connor Meakin, Matt Guest, Richard Hildreth, Connor Grimes, Scott Sandison, Rob Short, Paul Wettlaufer, Ken Pereira, Pete Short, Gabbar Singh, Keegan Pereira, Stephen Bissett, Taylor Curran, Ian Smyth, Taylor Self, Wayne Fernandes, Dave Jameson, Phil Wright, Elliot Marsh, Hudson Stewart, Mark Erickson, Scott Tupper, Mark Pearson, Matt Bissett, Ben Martin, Jesse Watson, Dave Carter, Antoni Kindler, Matt Peck, Geoff Houghton, Kevin Laidman.

Source: Field Hockey Canada