(Photo: © FIH / Gordon Morrison)

Pakistan’s striker Rehan Butt has been named Asia’s hockey player of the year, the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) announced. Butt, a former national captain, was picked ahead of leading players from India, South Korea and Malaysia. The Lahore-based forward is also member of the FIH World All Star Team 2008.

Other awards were won by Korean Lee Seon Ok (Women's award), Diwakar Ram from India (Men's Young Player of the Year award) and Song Qingling from China (Young Woman Player of the Year award).

PHF secretary Asif Bajwa received the award on Butt’s behalf at a ceremony on the sidelines of the Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) Congress in Kuala Lumpur. Besides Bajwa, PHF president Qasim Zia also attended the Congress.

Pakistan hockey legend M.H. Atif, who passed away earlier this month, was awarded a Life Time Achievement Award by the AHF.

The Pakistani officials earlier met with hockey officials of India, China, Malaysia, South Korea, Bangladesh and Oman and they assured full support to the PHF.

Source: PHF