Hockey Australia will honour the past while looking towards the future as it holds the first ever Hockey Australia Hall of Fame Dinner at the Perth Convention Exhibition Centre on Friday 11 July.

The dinner will see eleven men and eleven women inducted into the Hall of Fame, with their awards presented by members of the Australian men's and women's National teams who will be attending the event.

The initial inductees have been selected after nominations from State associations were invited and then deliberated over by a selection committee including previous Australian players and National coaches as well as current Board Member, Richard Aggiss.

"Selection was a difficult but exciting process - reviewing the history of the game going back to the early 1900's and comparing those players against the current era made selection a tough task" said Aggiss. "Given the enormous success over the last number of years and to best represent all eras of Australian hockey it was decided to limit the initial group of inductees to those players and officials who retired from international hockey prior to 2000."

All twenty-two inductees or a representative for those who have passed on are expected to be in attendance.

Olympic gold medalist Jenn Morris and respected media commentator Dave Christison will compere the evening, which will feature a preview of the PEAK documentary showing a behind the scenes view of the Kookaburra's preparation for Beijing.

Guests will be treated to gourmet food and premium wines and beer while the Hall of Fame inductees and current squad members and coaches will be among the special guest speakers throughout the night.

This is a historic event, gathering the best players and officials Australian Hockey has ever produced as well as our current National teams prior to their Beijing assault.

Hockey Australia is calling on the hockey community, both in Perth and nationally, to support this important event.

Source: Hockey Australia