The International Hockey Federation (FIH) announces that the Kenya Hockey Union has informed the FIH that because of the recent political turmoil in its country it has reluctantly had to withdraw from the women’s Olympic Qualifier to be played in Baku, Azerbaijan (12-20 April 2008).

The FIH has sought a replacement team, but unfortunately without success. As a result the competition will now be a 5 nation tournament. Azerbaijan, Belarus, Chile, Spain and Ukraine will compete for one spot at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Due to the withdrawal of Kenya, the FIH had to modify the match schedule for the WorldHockey Olympic Qualifier in Baku, Azerbaijan.

Please click here for the new match schedule.